Wednesday, April 21, 2010

ISTE SIGMS Webinar - Gaming in School Libraries

Webinar for April
Gaming in School Libraries

Thursday, April 22nd at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5 pm PT
Presenters: Kelly Czarnecki, Christopher Harris, and Brian Mayer

Join SIGMS for a free, winning webinar on Gaming in School Libraries. Authors Christopher Harris and Brian Mayer reveal reasons why modern board games need to be a part of your collection from their new book on gaming in school libraries. From curriculum alignments to the creation of socially networked learning, the games that make their top lists are proven hits in K-12 libraries.

Kelly Czarnecki, Technology Education Librarian in Charlotte, NC. will share ideas on how to host gaming events for all different types of users from her new book, Gaming in Libraries. She will discuss how to incorporate problem solving and content-area learning in K-12 classes by using modern board games, video games and virtual worlds. Learn how librarians have already found success using games as instructional resources and a surefire way to draw students to the library.

Directions to join the SIGMS webinar event
1. Check that your computer is set up for Adobe Connect by visiting Adobe Connect Pro Connection Test
2. Use this URL to enter the webinar room 10 - 15 minutes before starting time:
3. Enter as a guest and type your first and last name.
4. Here is a link to a Visual Quick Start guide (pdf) to help you if this is your first webinar event.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

A Nation Without School Libraries

Check out this map. It marks the cities, towns, communities, and states that have made the decision to either eliminate certified school library positions (indicated in blue) or require one school librarian to work with two (2) or more school library programs throughout the week (indicated in red).

And then visit my friend gwyneth's blog post (the daring librarian) to read more details.

View A Nation Without School Librarians in a larger map